Jim's Easy Listening Album

Angel Air 2006

Angel Air 2006

1. The Leaving Time 
2. Can’t Get Her Out Of My Head 
3. Money Talks 
4. The Frozen North 
5. Someday They’ll Find Out 
6. Hope In My Heart 
7. Can’t You Hear My Heart Calling 
8. High On Love 
9. Love, Death And Photographs 
10. I Guess It Means We’re Falling In Love 
11. You’ve Got The Love That Matters 
12. The First Kiss 
13. Never Gonna Make It Better 
14. We Didn’t Get Along 
15. This Love Isn’t Good For Us 
16. So Much Love 
17. Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime ( original demo )

An excellent album by the Stackridge/Korgis singer. The 'influences' are obvious - more homages really to The Beatles, Beach Boys and Paul Simon. There are no bad songs here, but there are memorable ones.”


This album started life in 1995 when James produced for family and friends only, 'Jim’s Special Edition Easy Listening Christmas Album' which since has become much sought after by fans of the two bands he fronted. 

'Jim's Easy Listening Album'(2006) inserts newer original material in place of six 'covers'. Classic pop from one of England’s gifted singer songwriters. 


“At the time I had my own little studio in the centre of Bath,” James recalls, “and was in professional songwriter mode. I’d often come up with songs that weren’t definite singles, or even exciting album tracks, but were nice and pleasant. I decided to demo these songs anyway and thought it seemed a pity for no-one to hear them. So I compiled a set of them to pass on to friends, families and relatives as a Christmas present.” 

The track everyone will recall is “Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime”, a major worldwide hit for The Korgis in 1979 that has become both James’ signature song and, he smilingly admits, his pension fund. Yet the original demo suggests it’s the hit that nearly got away. 

“I wrote it in 1978 when The Korgis had just done their first album. I got up one Sunday morning in my flat and it was the first thing that came out. But I didn’t take it seriously;  I was plonking around on the piano and singing in a sort of “transatlantic rock ballad” style. Thankfully David Lord who was producing us at the time said I should definitely take this idea seriously. We did it properly eventually and the rest is history.” 

While Stackridge was eclectic, zany and uncommercial, The Korgis allowed James to indulge his love of the 3-minute single. “Even though I loved all the experimental stuff we did in Stackridge I always had this other side.” The tracks on this album are therefore more Korgi-esque. “It’s really more straight-ahead pop. I’m not trying to do anything particularly wild; they’re just nice, comfortable tunes that people would like to have on in the background. It’s a Wine Bar album. Lie back and enjoy it! "

(Interview with Jim Warren - adapted from Michael Heatley’s original sleevenote)